1 888 629 2510


Learn all about Diamonds with Mazal's experts.
In this section you will find all the Diamonds characteristics and faces. Our experts are available via live chat or phone to answer any and all your questions.

The 4 C's: (Carat, Clarity, Color, Cut)



The largely adopted classification standards by which the diamond industry uses is known as the 4C’s, which stand for: Cut, Clarity, Color, and Carat. To further refine this classification, a new evaluation process of the quality of diamonds has been introduced called “Brilliance”. 





Carat: le poid du diamant




A carat is equivalent to .2 grams (1/5 ratio) and is the unit of measure for diamonds. 




The value of a diamond increases in an exponential manner. A two-carat diamond for example will be worth more than two times a one-carat diamond of the same quality. Larger diamonds of high quality are extremely rare and are valued to reflect that rarity.


More about the Diamond carat








A diamond’s clarity rating is the key measure of its overall quality.


All Diamonds contain some flaws, such as mineral inclusions, but the majority of the flaws are so insignificant that they have no effect on the diamonds' ability to refract and diffuse light. Nevertheless heavier and more pronounced flaws can compromise and diminish the capability of light to go through the diamond.


Alas, nature guarantees that almost all diamonds have inherent natural blemishes called “inclusions.” Often, these clarity shortcomings are invisible to the untrained eye. However, these same imperfections can be immediately apparent to professional gemologists.


A stone is said to be flawless if, under magnification, no inclusions like “clouds,” “pinpoints,” or "internal crystals"; no internal flaws, sometimes referred to as “feathers;” and no external imperfections, such as scratches, burns or abrasions, are visible.




More about the Diamond clarity






The absence of any color is very rare as most diamonds contain tiny amounts of nitrogen.







The untrained eye may not be able to detect these minute variations of color, but these distinctions affect the rarity and ultimately the value of a diamond.


Diamonds are compared to "The Ideal Master" diamond. Color is then rated according to a precise scale, running from “D” (colorless) to “Z” (saturated). Past “Z” a diamond’s color is considered “fancy”. Fancy colored diamonds are very valuable and, correspondingly, are graded by very different parameters.


More about the Diamond color





The term "cut" refers to the facets and their proportions on the surface of a diamond. 



At Mazal, we specifically set the precise proportions of every diamond we offer. Our craftsmen operate within very strict guidelines to make sure that in every diamond there is a perfect balance between the table, the crown, the pavilion, and the girdle. At Mazal Diamond, cut and brilliance take priority above the raw weight of a rough diamond.


Mazal's diamonds are always excellent cut diamonds. They are cut to enhance the natural beauty which is lying within every stone. Carat weight is, wrongly thought by many, not the most important factor about the value of a diamond.


Some diamond cutters will leave an excessively thick girdle around the stone in hopes of increasing the diamond’s carat weight. This practice harms the stone by considerably impairing the diamond’s beauty and brilliance. Our strict standards insist that we sacrifice more of the rough diamond weight than any cutter would normally do. 

Cut should not be confused with "shape".  Shape refers to the general outward appearance of the diamond, such as Round, Emerald, Pear, etc.,.

More about the Diamond cut

2048 Bit SSL Certificate